Prague Food Diary Week 9: Ireland, Croatia, and Vienna

HERE WE GOOOO

Thank you for being so understanding in my unpredictability. I hope I will start blogging more regularly because I am traveling less, but who knows.

So without further ado, my trip started in Ireland with my mom and her best friend (and my neighbor back home) Karin. I met up with them in Dublin and we started a 5 day bus tour of  some of the big Ireland highlights.

When I met them in Dublin, we didn’t really have much time to eat before we left, but trust me, I made time for a Guinness

img_7763

Then we were off to this really fun pub called the Merry Ploughboy that performed an awesome show. There were Irish folk songs, Irish step dancing, and plenty of beer to go around. It was a great time and the food was surprisingly really delicious for it being the tourist attraction that it was. I had a Guinness and beef stew for my meal and some delicious apple strudel for dessert.

IMG_0002.jpg

IMG_0003.jpg

The next day we were off to Blarney Castle and the Blarney Woolen Mills for lunch. You best believe I kissed the Blarney stone, but my mom and Karin were too freaked out to do it. For those of you who don’t know, you have to kind of lean out of this window and dangle a bit over the edge to actually kiss the stone. At the Blarney Woolen Mills I had some Asian cuisine in the form of some orange chicken and rice. Honestly, it wasn’t that delicious, the rice was a bit over cooked and there just wasn’t enough chicken to handle the sauce. But it was food and I ate it because climbing the Blarney castle sure works up an appetite!

IMG_0005.jpg

Heres a beautiful picture of Blarney Castle in all its glory!IMG_0004.JPG

After Blarney, we made our way to Killarney where we stayed for 2 days. While Killarney didn’t really have a lot to offer in terms of sightseeing, they had plenty of restaurants to choose from. In true American fashion, I had a really bad craving for ice cream and we found Murphy’s Ice Cream, which perfectly satisfied that craving. I had 2 scoops of butterscotch and vanilla ice cream an honestly I could totally have like 974395 more scoops and be happy. It was so delicious and much needed

IMG_0007.jpg

Then we were off to Galway to see the Cliffs of Moher, and the Skellig Islands. The food in Galway wasn’t that fabulous, but the history and scenic views certainly made up for it. That evening we had a medieval dinner where we all had to eat with our hands. While the food was abysmal, we did manage to take a super cute picture of the three of us.

IMG_0008.JPG

Karin on the far left, my mom in the middle, and me on the right

We ended the tour back in Dublin. We got back to Dublin around 5 pm and were all pretty exhausted. Since my 21st birthday was the next day, and we had to leave relatively early the next morning, we celebrated that evening with some much needed pie and candles.

IMG_0009.JPG

Me awkwardly “thumbs upping” people singing “Happy Birthday” to me

IMG_0010.JPG

The apples in this pie were so tart and delicious, I would gladly have a pie every year for my birthday if it was this pie. The next day my mom and I flew back to Prague for a day and Karin (unfortunately) went back home. Since it was my actual birthday (April 12th), I met up with my roommates in Prague for a fun birthday dinner at one of our fave restaurants that I have posted about previously, Zanzibar. I had some awesome birthday ravioli and welcomed my 21st year of living with a food coma.

IMG_0011.jpg

Then my mom and I while we both headed to Split, Croatia for 3 days.

Let me preface this part of the post by saying that Croatia was hands down the most beautiful place I think I have ever been to. The weather is incredible, the people are so kind, and the food is out of this world. If you are planing a trip to Europe some time soon, do not leave Croatia out of your plans. It is so rich with history and culture that you would be doing a disservice if you didn’t check out this amazing country.

I am a huge Game of Thrones fan, which was the reason why I chose to go to Split, Croatia. For those of you that are unaware, Split is where they filmed most of season 4 and 5 of Game of Thrones and it is where the city if Myerrene is. So obviously I forced my mom to take me on a tour of all the places they filmed. I essentially geeked out the whole time and just pretended that I was Daenerys Targaryen.

Within a few hours of landing in paradise I ordered a Mojito and some pizza

IMG_0012.JPG

IMG_0013.JPG

Gouda cheese pizza with rocket

 

Our hotel, The Piazza Heritage Hotel, was located right in the center of Split and across the street from Diocletian’s Palace. Words cannot describe how beautiful it was, and when I finish being abroad I will have a huge scenery post where you can see the places I’ve been, but trust me on this one, Croatia is paradise.

The next morning my mom and I had breakfast at our hotel and I had PANCAKES. I hadn’t had pancakes since I was back home, especially banana pancakes. I practically lost my mind when I saw it on the menu. I don’t know if it was because I hadn’t had pancakes in 3 months or not, but that was some of the best breakfast I had ever had.

IMG_0014.jpg

Then we went on the 3 hour tour of all the Game of Thrones sets. We had this adorable tour guide Agnes who was just as excited about GoT as I was. Luckily enough, the tour was literally just my mom and I, so I got to get all of the info and man was it awesome. Again, Ill have a much more extensive post about my GoT adventures, but I was in heaven. After 3 hours of touring remote places in Croatia, we were starving. This was where I had the best meal of my whole entire life. There is this small, family run restaurant tucked away in one of the many side streets of Diocletian’s Palace called Kod Sfinge. I’ve never eaten food this good and I eat A LOT. I had goat cheese with truffles INSIDE it, fresh salami and fresh  ravioli with prosciutto, ricotta, and fresh truffles. I am just going t o let the pictures speak for themselves.

IMG_0016.JPG

I had already eaten 2/3rds of the cheese before I remembered I needed a picture

IMG_0017.jpg

I am just going to leave these here and have you deal with the hunger pangs you are currently feeling.

After taking a 2 hour nap from eating the beautiful feast above, my mom and I decided we were hungry again. We went to another incredible restaurant which had the freshest ingredients and homemade pasta. I ordered shrimp pasta and had a chocolate mousse with raspberry for dessert.

IMG_0018.jpg

IMG_0019.jpg

Im getting hungry writing this.

The next day was, unfortunately, our last day in Croatia before we headed to Vienna for literally 24 hours before I had to leave to come back to school (lame).

I caved and let my mom take me to a vegan place we found in Croatia. It was called Makrovega. From a meat eater stand point it was just okay, but my mom really liked it and was in heaven after watching me eat all that salami and cheese from the day before.

IMG_0024.jpg

My mom also bought me this really comfy sweatshirt that I have proceeded to hide in since  she purchased it

IMG_0022.JPG

hiding from the paparazzi

Then we were off to Vienna! When we landed we knew we had minimal time, so we hit the ground running. We went to St. Stephen’s Cathedral and then I had Schnitzel. There was no time to waste!

IMG_0026.JPG

Here is some quick sight seeing we got done  when we landed before we went to bed to get up super early the next day to literally see ALL of Vienna:

IMG_0025.jpg

It was literally raining when I took this picture despite the sunny skies

The next day we woke up at like 7:30 am and headed to Schonbrunn Palace.

IMG_0027.jpg

After spending about 3 hours there and getting mildly lost in the gardens, we headed to the Upper and Lower Belvedere! I desperately wanted to see Gustav Klimt and my mom, who had no idea who he was, came along for the ride.

IMG_0028.JPG

Me posing with the selfie version of “The Kiss”

After 4 hours at the Belvedere we were STARVING. We stopped at Cafe Schoenberg and I nommed on some goulash and strudel (when in Vienna)

IMG_0030.JPG

IMG_0029.JPG

And just as quickly as we arrived in Vienna, we left! It was an amazing ride but my mom and I are exhausted! She officially goes back home tomorrow, and then I will be in Munich for the weekend for Springfest! If you are going to be in Munich for Springfest let me know! Or if you’ve been there before please give me some ideas as to where to eat because I know very little about food in Germany besides bratwurst and pretzels.

xoxoxox

One comment

  1. The Wild Wayfarer · April 19, 2016

    Sounds great, I’m glad you liked Ireland! I also visited Split last summer and it was without a doubt one of my favourite places.. heading to Prague in two weeks also! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

